| || |
"Top 10" Lists > Main
Here is where you add the items to each list, such as the "People in History I’d Invite to a Dinner Party" or "These are a Few of My Favorite Things."
|See all the items in any given "Top 10" List
- Sort Items: you can arrange and sort your Lists by clicking on the column headers below:
- Title: sort alphabetically by the title of the List item
- Date: sort chronologically by the date the List item was created
- Arrange List Items: you can arrange the order in which your List items appear. To move any item Up or Down, simply highlight the item in the "Arrange List" box and click on the Move Up or Move Down buttons to move the List items to the sequential order you would like them to show. Then Save the changed List items order and the items will appear online to readers the same sequence you have set them here.
|Add New Items to a List |
|Start your list by naming the List items
- Title: give each List item a title
- Date & Time: the date and time will be "time-stamped" on your List item when it was created.
- Set Item Access Rights: you may select whether you wish this List item to be public or private.
- Public: this item on your List will be viewable by the public.
- Private: this List item will not be published and will only be viewable by you.
- Media Files: now you may attach any Media Files to your List items to enhance them.
- Attach Files: choose almost any type of file to add dimension to the List items.
- Link from Vault: you may select a file that already exists in your Vault and attach it to any List item.
- Upload new File: or you may select a file from your own computer and upload it and attach it to a List item. Please note that if you upload a file it will also be available in your Vault under "Other".
- Delete Files: you may Delete your Files on any List items at any time. Please note that if you Delete a File on a List item, it will be permanently deleted from the Lists module and this action cannot be undone. The files will still remain in your Vault until you delete them in the Vault.
- "Top 10" List item Comments: if your List item is public, people may leave Comments on your List item. Comments are a good way to interact with the larger community on your thoughts. Only registered Story of My Life members can leave Comments on other people’s List items.
- Edit Comment: while you cannot Edit the content of a Comment left by another user, you do have the opportunity to Publish or leave unpublished a Comment left by someone else. If you leave it unpublished, it is not deleted but it’s also not publicly available.
- Delete Comment: you may Delete Comments left by other Users to your Journal entries. Please note: if you Delete a Comment it will be permanently deleted and this action cannot be undone.
- Auto Publish Comments: you may choose to have any Comments left by other readers automatically be published and viewable by others, or you may set the Auto Publish to “No” and you will have an option to approve and publish or delete each Comment. You will be notified in your Alert box when you have new Comments. Only registered Story of My Life members can leave Comments on other people’s List items.
- Published: Comments available for viewing by the public.
- Unpublished: Comments that are not deleted but are not viewable to the public.
|Delete List Item |
|You may Delete your List items at any time. Please note that if you Delete a List item, all content and any attachments will be permanently deleted and this action cannot be undone. |
|Settings for List |
|You may Delete your List items at any time. Please note that if you Delete a List item, all content and any attachments will be permanently deleted and this action cannot be undone.
- Public: meaning the Lists are viewable by anyone
- Private: keeps them completely private: no one can see the Lists except you when you are logged into your account
when other Readers read your "Top Ten List" they may be moved to write Comments about your "Top Ten List". These are encouraged to promote interaction.
- Edit Comment: you may write a reply to a Comment before publishing it.
- Delete Comment: you may choose not to publish a Comment to your "Top Ten List". If you do so, the Comment will not show on your "Top Ten List". If you choose to Delete a Comment, while it will not show on your "Top Ten List", it will show on the person who left the Comment. Please note, if you receive harassing or derogatory Comments from other Members you may read our User Agreement policy and may contact Support for any suspected abuse of the system.
- Auto Publish Comments: you may choose the “Yes” setting to automatically publish all Comments. You may edit (reply) or delete Comments at any time. Choosing the Auto-Publish feature means that you do not need to approve Comments before they are posted to your site. If you choose “No” to the Auto-Publish feature, your Comments will be stored but not published until you approve them individually when you log into your "Top Ten List". You will be notified of these pending Comments through your Alerts Box.