Story of My Life
Close
Print
Table of Contents
FAQs
Glossary
Contact Us
Writers Forum
HELP
Help

Table of Contents

Vault > Main


Go Up One Level
Use the UP button to return to the previous page.

Upload
Upload all your important photos and organize and share them easily. We have no file size limits, just keep in mind the bigger the file the slower it will be to upload and to view for those on slower internet connections.
  • Select File: First, browse your computer folders to find the file that you wish to Upload to your Vault.
  • Title: give your File a Title (or keep the original Title)
  • Description: give your File a short description about what the file is. These keywords will aid in searching the Files as well.
  • Status: the system will show the upload status as it’s uploading the file. The time to upload any file will be determined by how big the file is and your internet connection speed.
  • Upload or Upload & add Another: you may finish Uploading the file and move on to other items or you may save and upload another file to your Vault.

Delete File
You may Delete a File at any time. Please note: If you Delete a File you will permanently delete it from the system and this action cannot be undone.

Edit
You may Edit your Files at any time.

Slide Show
View your Pictures, Images or Photos as a slideshow.
  • Previous: see the previous Picture in the Album
  • Next: see the Next Picture in the Album
  • Play: Play the slideshow, so that the Pictures will automatically move forward to the Next Picture.
  • Pause: Pause Playing the slideshow temporarily.
  • Stop: Stop the slideshow (it will not start again until you press Play).
Send File
You may choose to select certain Files from your Vault and send them someone.
  • After you have chosen your files and hit "Send File" you must first select the recipients from your Contacts in your various Contacts lists such as Friends, Family and Groups. You may move between Contact groups to select people to whom you wish to send the Files.
  • Next, choose among the displayed Contacts the persons you’d like to receive your Files. Click on the "Add Selected" or "Add All" (to add All the members of that particular list) to send to. The selected names will then be displayed below in the Sender’s List. You may remove any Name(s) or add more Names.
  • Add anyone NOT in your Contacts list to receive the File(s) by adding their Email address into the "Add Email ID" field.
  • Write your Subject and your Message using the basic editing tools such as BOLD or colors or italics for emphasis.
  • Click "Send" and the system will send an email through our secure server to your recipients. The recipients will see your message and a link or links to your Vault to show them the Files that you have selected for their viewing or auditory pleasure.

Access Rights
You may restrict access rights by time and whom for each file.
  • Access Level: you may choose to set your Files accessible to:
    • Public: meaning the files are viewable by anyone
    • Private: keep them completely private: no one can see the files except you when you are logged into your account
    • Limited: or allow only certain people to have access to the files when they are logged into the system.
      • Choose among the displayed Contacts the persons you’d like to receive your Files. Click on the "Add Selected" or "Add All" (to add All the members of that particular list) to send to. The selected names will then be displayed below in the Sender’s List. You may remove any Name(s) or add more Name(s).
      • Add anyone NOT in your Contacts list to receive the File(s) by adding their Email address into the "Add Email ID" field.
      • Write your Subject and your Message using the basic editing tools such as BOLD or colors or italics for emphasis.
      • Click "Send" and the system will send an email through our secure server to your recipients. The recipients will see your message and a link or links to your Vault to show them the Files that you have selected for their viewing or auditory pleasure.
  • Release Date: you may choose to release certain documents at a future date. If you choose to do this, use the calendar to select a future date or enter in the date in month/day/year format into the field and save it. The system will automatically open the file at that date either to the public or whomever you have granted limited access rights to.

Make Permanent
One of the most compelling features of the Story of My Life system is that we really do keep your Files Forever. Read about our Forever promise here. With this "Make Permanent" button, you can select files and choose to make them part of your Forever Space. If you already have enough space to cover the size of the File(s) you wish to add to your Forever Space, then you just need to mark those as "Forever" files and you’re done. If you don’t have enough Forever Space to cover the size of the File(s) you wish to add, you may either remove some other Files from the Forever permanent Storage or Purchase additional Forever Space. Each Forever file and Story will have the Forever logo on it so you will know immediately which files will be permanently stored at the Story of My Life Foundation™.

Add Files to
You can select certain Files in your Vault and add them to your Stories or your Journals. Clicking on the "Add Files To" button for your selected Files will first give you the option to select where you would like to add your Files to (Story or Journals) and it will show you a list of your Stories or Journal entries to attach to:
  • Story: choose a Story to attach pictures, music, video or other Files to a Story
  • Journals: choose a Story to attach pictures, music, video or other Files to a Journal entry.

View Mode
You may look at your Vault files in either "thumbnail" mode or list mode. You may switch between these modes at any time.
  • Thumbnail View: shows you scaled down, smaller versions of your Files (pictures).
  • List View: text title and description of your Files.