Story of My Life
Close
Print
Table of Contents
FAQs
Glossary
Contact Us
Writers Forum
HELP
Help

Glossary


A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Access Rights


A user may set limited, granted permission rights to use or restricted from using certain aspects of the Story of My Life website such as rights to view a file, read a story, or participate in a forum. Access levels can be set to:
  • Public,
  • Private, or
  • Limited / Custom
The default setting on the Story of My Life site is set to “Public” You may choose to keep your entire Story private easily by clicking on the “Make my Story Private” link on your home page, or you may select which areas of your Story to be private, which to be public, which to be released in the Future, and which to allow only certain people to have Access.

Setting Access Rights to your Story: when you write a Story (either inside a Chapter or Category) you may select the Access rights to allow the public, only certain people, or no one but you to see the Story line. This ascertains that you are releasing data only when you want, to whom you want.

Setting Access Rights to your Files: when you upload a multimedia File to your Vault you may select the Access rights to allow the public, only certain people, or no one but you to see the Story line. This ascertains that you are releasing data only when you want, to whom you want.

Setting Access Rights to a Forum: the Owner(s) of the Forum, whether coming from a Network, a Group or setting up another Forum, may choose to Auto-Publish posts (see Auto-Publish below) and have Public or Private settings for the Forum. Private allows only members of the Forum to be able to see and post to the Forum.

Setting Access Rights to Journal: When you are finished with a Journal post, you may actually choose two different ways to publish (or not) your Journal post. If you are not quite finished with the post, or wish to complete, update or add Files to it later, you may Save it as a Draft. It will not be published until you publish it. Alternatively you may set the Access Rights to Public or Private. If the setting is Private, it will not be accessible to anyone

Setting Access Rights to a Group: the Group Owner may establish the Public or Privacy of a Group when he/she sets up the Group and may edit this setting at any time.

Setting Access Rights to a Network: the Friends or Family Network Owner may establish the Public or Privacy of a Network when he/she sets up the Network.

Setting Access Rights to your Profile: You may select any part of your Profile to be public or private. Remember that none of the fields in the Profile are required to fill out. You may leave them all blank, fill in some or as many as you would like. When you are filling in any section on the Profile, you can choose to keep the information public, private or a mix. To get to your Profile click on the My Profile icon, which will show you in the Left Menu all of your Profile sections. For example, My Profile > About Me > Edit (the Edit button).